Calling In


At 12:30 today (just an hour ag0 really), I had every intention of sitting down and cranking out a few thousand words.  An hour later, I’ve played Farmville 2, Candy Crush, started the washing machine, had the washing machine stop and moved the clothes to the dryer and started another load of laundry, answered emails, surfed the internet, read Liz Schulte’s Bat Country post on Self-Publishing and done everything except write.

The biggest obstacle to being a writer is that it is incredibly easy to procrastinate.  I mean incredibly easily.  Going to a job is a whole lot different.  You wake up, you don’t want to go in, but you shower, dress and go in anyway because if you don’t, you have to call in and explain to someone whatever bullshit reason you have for not making it into work today.  As a writer, I answer to only myself and my fans and my fans would start freaking out if I called them every time I decided I didn’t want to type and explained whatever bullshit reason for it.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my career.  I have already hit my word goal for the week of 15,000 words.  My next novel is still going strong and set to release on time.  It’s still flowing well and I have it all planned out.

However, like everyone else, I occasionally wake up in the morning and think; to hell with it, I don’t want to work today.  Maybe it’s because it’s cold outside or because I have weekend plans out of state or I just don’t want to work.  Whatever the reason, even though I love what I do, I still have these days.  Days where I want to vegetate; watch TV, play video games, never change out of my pajamas, and maybe have nap time (or morning and afternoon nap time).

For now, I’m content to play video games, watch TV and vegetate.  Tonight, after my SO goes to bed, there’s a good chance that I will break out the laptop and type until midnight and get another couple thousand words written.  But for now, I’m calling in and my bullshit excuse is that it’s cold outside.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Lol…you are so right…only go into work because I have to! Would rather stay home in pj’s and read and sleep!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

