Sleeping Angry


For as long as I’ve been alive, I’ve always been told not to go to bed mad.  I thought this was because you never knew what could happen in the eight hours or so that you were sleeping.  Go to bed mad at your parents and wake up to find that one has died or something similarly horrendous.  And that might be true, but…

Last night, I was very irritated when I went to bed.  The specifics aren’t important, my family is just as dysfunctional as every other family on the planet and because we are family, we annoy the shit out of each other at times.  It was one of those times.

I slept all night long, never waking up.  However, I didn’t rest.  My dreams were angry.  I woke up exhausted and in a bad mood with a headache lurking on the horizon.  Even as I write this, I’m still in a bad mood, I’m still very tired and the lurking headache has hit.

I have shit to do today.  I have shit to do tonight.  I need to write.  I have dart league tonight, first night of the season and I’m already a player down (slipped a disk).

Yet my bad mood and lack of restful sleep is impacting my entire day.  Instead of writing, all I can think about is taking a nap.  Blech… What a waste… This is why you don’t sleep angry.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Yeah…I feel for you…it’s totally about your sleep and not the other persons. Plus if things are left unresolved they tend to become bigger and what started as a small argument turns into a giant escalating monster and you forget what the little thing was that made you mad.

    Like

    Reply
    • It is impossible to forget that my sister thinks the world is completely about her and her needs and everyone else should just cater to her whims and flights of fancy… but I understand your meaning.

      I have never had an argument with anyone other than her, that was unresolved by sleepy-time. As a matter of fact, had it been anyone else, we would have sat down and talked it out before we were allowed to go to bed.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

