Dark Legacies Teaser


I’m supposed to be resting, but I don’t know exactly what that is… so I’ve been writing, they sound similar.  So, a teaser (unedited, forgive the spelling, grammar and any other errors there mights might) from Dark Legacies:  

     Gregorian sent a cry skyward. The air became electrified. Clouds gathered overhead. Whatever was coming, I hoped the magic of the city was strong enough to keep it out if we failed.
Lightening suddenly exploded overhead. The thunder made me jump. No rain fell with it. In the distance, I heard several different animals begin to cry and call out. The ground shook.
It wasn’t the result of the danger. From over the hills that surrounded us and out of the woods that had stood sentinel for eons, came mythics. Dragons, wyverns, and things I had never seen before were stampeding towards the city.
A few slammed into the walls. Others managed to turn in time to skirt around the city and flee to whatever lay on the other side of it. An unnatural darkness began to move out of the trees.
“Cerebus?” I asked.
“Yes, but he isn’t the cause of the panic. The mythics do not flee him like that. Most have grown used to his presence. I think he is fleeing something,” Anubis answered.
Whatever was coming our way had spooked Cerebus. That was a feat. My stomach knotted. My lungs stopped working. I began to gather magic without realizing it.
Cerebus came out of the woods at a lumbering pace. He ignored us. Instead, he moved past my house, towards the direction the other mythics had gone.
Gregorian, head still raised, made a deeper sound. This one was so low, it hurt my ears and vibrated in my chest. Even my father’s voice wasn’t that low.
On the path before us came a man on a horse. The horse was white with a blood red blanket on it, despite the rider being bareback. He held a crossbow in one hand.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

