The Midnight Write


Well, I got the crap that my SO had the week of Christmas.  It’s pretty miserable, but I’m struggling to work through some of it.  So, it’s just after midnight and I’ve been waiting to take my next dose of medicine and working.

I’ve had an alien marathon day on movies & TV.  I started by sleeping through several episodes of Ancient Aliens.  There are new things to be learned from the show.  It hasn’t convinced me that aliens have been visiting our planet for eons, but most of the episodes contain information on archeology, anthropology, mythology, and religion (and religious relics)… all of which I find fascinating.  However, it has convinced me that Giorgio A. Tsoukalos has very interesting hair.  I’m not sure where he came up with that style or why, but it’s interesting.

After that, it was Cowboys vs. Aliens.  I do love Harrison Ford, no matter how old he gets or odd his roles, I continue to be a fan.  This may offend the Star Wars diehards (like my oldest nephew), but he will always be Indiana Jones.  Even the fourth installment, which most considered a flop (Kingdom of the Crystal Skull) has been bought and watched dozens of times by me.  While I’m very aware real archeology is nothing like Indiana Jones and any of his quests, I love the idea that archeology could be that sexy.

Now, it’s Predators.  Another series of movies in which I own all of them; from Predator with Arnold to AVP: Requiem and of course, Predators.  I just like the concept behind the movies; bad ass extraterrestrials hunting bad ass humans for sport.  Hell, the scene in Predator 2 with all the Jamaican drug lords strung from the ceiling, skin removed, blood dripping onto the floor for pure gore effect inspired my serial killer in Elysium Dreams.

If I’m lucky, this is my last bit of writing for the night.  The couch is already made into a bed and waiting for me to crawl into it (the problem with living together is that cooties get spread… since he is just getting over being sick, we are sleeping in separate rooms).  If I’m not lucky enough to be able to fall asleep, I’ll put in Pitch Black and see what else I can get written tonight.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I was afraid you would get the crud from the SO…..hope you both feel better today – yeah I’m a fan of the Indiana Jones movies too and like Harrison Ford in those the best…at one time I had considered archeology as a major in college but then I changed my mind (and you are right it is so not as sexy or action packed as Indiana Jones makes it look)

    Like

    Reply
    • He is feeling much better, because he gave me his cooties. I considered archeology in college, but I didn’t want to take the language classes (isn’t German and Russian enough?).

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

