‘Twas The Night Before Christmas


And this post is late, it actually is Christmas – Central Time… actually, about 20 minutes into the day.

Despite having the yuckies, we had a good evening.  We watched Christmas movies for a while, then one of my nephews showed up and we played cards (a great way to pass germs, by the way).   Hence, the reason for the late post.

Santa has already visited our house, our stockings are filled and nestled under the tree.  All the packages are waiting to be opened.  It should be a good day.  I’m looking forward to seeing my SO’s face when he opens one of his presents.  He doesn’t read my blog, so I can talk about the debacle.

He works for a John Deere dealership as a mechanic and has for nearly 20 years.  This year he asked for a rearview mirror for our golf cart.  I ordered it.  It came in a triangle box, which I just wrapped.  For two weeks, he wandered around the house trying to figure out what was in the triangle package.

One night, he comes home from work and says “You got my golf cart mirror.”  I gave him a look.  He explains that for the first time since he started working at the dealership as a mechanic, his parts manager brought out a rearview mirror IN THE BOX to be installed on a Gator.  All that time he’d worked there, he’d never seen the box the mirrors came in.  I played it off, irritated to say the least.

Then a spark of genius hit!  He also wanted a barbecue grill cover for his Weber.  I got one, unwrapped the mirror, shoved the grill cover into the triangle box, rewrapped the box and put the mirror in a huge box, about twice the size needed and wrapped that.  Tomorrow, I’m going to let him unwrap the triangle box first since he knows it’s a mirror.

And he informed me that he got me a “joke” gift.  I’m a little concerned.  In this family, that could mean anything.  One year, my mother filled all the boys’ stockings with boxes of condoms, including my SO.  My mom has a gag gift in her stocking this year… I’m not going to say what it is just yet, but I can’t wait to see her face when she opens it!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

