The Midnight Post


Technically, it’s midnight where I am.  So, I’m typing up my post because I’ve been slacking lately.

Theoretically, I’m about to be housebound for a few days.  I live north of I-70 in Missouri and they are expecting ice, snow and relatively crappy weather for a couple of days.  I can drive in the slushy-slick muck, but I prefer not to because not everyone else can.  I learned this the hard way a while back.  The car coming towards me decided that slamming on his brakes was a good idea and slide into the front of my SUV.  Fortunately for me, he was in a small car.  Unfortunately for him, I was in a good sized SUV.  My SUV mostly suffered from paint transfer on the bumper.  His car had to be towed.  

With my anxiety disorder, this creates a strange fracture within me.  I know I can drive in ice and snow, regardless of my car.  I also know that there are times when you just can’t save it, regardless of what you do (this happened to me when I was 16).  But if I’m not on the road, the chances of my screwing up and being unable to save it are nil.  The chances that some other driver will screw up and hit me are just as low.  I prefer it that way.  It isn’t convenient.  It would be one of those things where despite the medications, the anxiety is going to win out.  I’ll keep my butt at home and type until my fingers fall off or something.

Speaking of anxiety, I’ve been finding it more and more problematic in recent weeks.  I have no doubt it has something to do with Christmas, winter, my attempts to schedule book tours and promos, lack of sleep and my strange desire for a Wendy’s bacon mushroom burger…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I totally feel the same way about the roads in the winter, I try to stay off of them if at all possible. I also get the whole anxiety thing too, mine has been slowly ramping itself up over the past week or so. I guess that the best thing is to try and hold on as tight as we can and wait for it to pass.

    I just finished Mercurial Dreams and it was amazing as usual! I cant wait for the next book. I am so glad that I ran across your books on Amazon, I literally cannot put them down once I pick one up. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Goodness! Definitely don’t add to that stress load! Maybe focus on getting some good sleep in, and have someone bring you that burger!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

