Review Day!


I read a couple of different books recently.  So, here’s a smattering of reviews.

In The Shadows by Susan Finlay – I will admit that Susan is in my novelists’ group.  That didn’t stop me from enjoying her book (and if I hadn’t enjoyed it, I wouldn’t have reviewed it).  It’s a mystery/thriller set in France and has a well designed and intricate plot.  The characters are well written and overall it was a good book.  My only problem was that it does those pesky focus shifts. If you don’t mind focus shifts (and most people don’t), this is a fast-paced mystery with a little bit of romance and a whole lot of action.  It kept me guessing and that doesn’t happen very often.  Also, you’ll love the grandmothers.  😉

White Rock Extant by Rae Crossmon – This is another author that I’ve had some time to get to know, which was awesome because we some common interests outside of writing… Like Slavic ethos and mythology.  Which is exactly what the White Rock series is about… an old myth being thrust into the modern world by a great writer.  I was reluctant to read this one.  I had read the first, White Rock Foundations, however, after talking to Mr. Crossmon, I decided to give it a go.  I’m glad I did.  I actually enjoyed book 2 better than book one.  There are those pesky character focus shifts again, but I really am the only one that seems to dislike them.  The White Rock books are part fantasy, part mystery and all thriller.  The fantasy part is solely the myth that drove the creation of the books.  I am looking forward to reading the next installment.

Badger Lake by Aaron Shaffer – When I started this book, I wasn’t entirely sure I was going to like it.  It’s a comedic mystery that seemed light on mystery and comedy.  As I got further into the book, I still found it light on mystery, like the murder was only there to drive the comedy.  Surprisingly, I finished it and enjoyed it.  It was funny and entertaining, a light read for a rainy afternoon.  I found a bit of slapstick with the characters and there was some tongue-in-cheek jokes as well.  I like witty comedy and this had just enough to make me smile.  I would recommend for quick chuckle.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

