It’s December, You May Turn On The Christmas Music…


I’m a big fan of keeping my holidays separated.   You should not be playing Christmas music while I shop for Halloween decorations.  First, it makes me not want to buy Halloween decorations.  Second, it does not put me in the Christmas mood, it irritates me.

Then again, I have trouble getting in the Christmas mood anyway.  I have no problems with the Christmas Spirit.  We should be more generous, all the time.  For example, a few weeks ago, I was at my local Aldi’s and saw an older couple having trouble paying for groceries.  I don’t know if their card wasn’t working or if there wasn’t enough money in the account, but it was a problem.  Their purchases were less than $20 and the woman behind them in line, handed the cashier a $20 and got the change.  The couple was grateful enough to hug the woman.  It was a wonderful gesture that reminded me that humanity can be nice.  However, the woman that paid for their groceries told them “Merry Christmas” as they walked away.  It made me wonder if the woman would have done it if it hadn’t been a week before Thanksgiving.  I’d like to think that she would have.

Back to the point, the Christmas mood is a little different.  For me, it stems from familial tensions.  There are very few Christmas memories that do not include my sister bitching at my parents over her gifts.  I distinctly remember one year when everything was wrong.  The reason I remember it is because she later told me I had to start complaining about my gifts so that we could get better stuff.

Only, I didn’t want better stuff.  I’ve never had a Christmas that wasn’t great… including the year that my grandmother got my cousin and I both bras and had us open them at the large family gathering… in front of everyone… and the bras were the wrong sizes.  Even the bras were thoughtful gifts, my grandmother tried to get us something useful (my cousin and I were the youngest in the family by 6 years and the one that was 6 years older than us, was a boy).  And they were pretty colors.  I was 10, she was 12.  It was embarrassing to open them, but hey, what’s family for?

Now that I’m in my 30’s, I find that I still have great Christmases.  The presents under the tree with my name on them will be perfect, even if they aren’t what I wanted.  The breakfast we cook to accompany the opening of the presents will be wonderful.  I’ll be with my family, they still drive me crazy, but hey, that’s what family is supposed to do.

However, a problem has arisen as I’ve gotten older.  People ask me “what do you want for Christmas?”  I have a tendency to shrug, because I don’t know.  This year, I gave a list of three things to my mother that she, both my nephews, and my SO are supposed to buy.  None of them are over $30.  I gave my best friend two other items.  I have gotten much better at picking out gifts for others though…

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

