Black Friday


It’s the busiest shopping day of the year, in theory.  It really isn’t, but that doesn’t stop the stores from touting it to be the busiest.  Nor does it stop them from hosting phenomenal deals to those willing to wait in long lines and face heavy crowds.  Needless to say, I avoid shopping on Black Friday like I would avoid people with Bubonic Plague.  I don’t like crowds or the wee hours of the morning or standing in long lines or crazy people; who seem to be out in full force on this wonderful day.  I’ve done it once and never again, my sanity is worth more than the money I *might* save on Black Friday.

However, since today is the day to shop like mad for Christmas presents at rock bottom prices, let me give you a gift idea that will cost you nothing and will mean the world to someone else.

I’ve preached, cajoled, pleaded and bargained in the past to get people to leave reviews.  I know, it’s sometimes extremely hard to write that 20 word requirement, but to an author… Wow!  A review of 3-stars or above is like winning the lottery.  It creates feelings of euphoria.  It makes the author feel special because you not only enjoyed their book, but you took the five minutes to review it in an attempt to convince others to buy it.  And it’s the gift that keeps giving, because with more reviews comes more interest in our work.

You know that ebook you picked up for $0.99 the other day because it had 40 reviews and half of them were 4-star or better?  And you loved it?  Imagine what happens when you add your review and now, 21 of them are 4-star or better.

So, give your favorite authors a gift this season and go review their books.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

