Facebook Crusader


I fight the urge every single day to not become a “Facebook Crusader.”  Each time one of my friends post something that I know is false and easily verified as such, I have to resist the urge to tell them about it.  I would try to be polite about it, as much as I’m capable, I’m not known for my diplomacy, but I would still try.

Yesterday, it was an attack on Mac & Cheese that started me shaking my head.  I don’t like Kraft Mac & Cheese, never have, but still… No need to perpetuate the notion that they are slowly poisoning us.  For the record, they aren’t, at least not anymore than any other food manufacturer, and if you know how to read labels, you’ll quickly discover the one on Facebook has a few spelling errors.

Today, it was a “get to a million likes” or some such thing.  Sorry folks, Bill Gates isn’t going to give a little girl money for cancer treatments based on how many Facebook likes she gets.

I’m also tired of local news being posted.  I don’t follow it like I should, but I don’t need certain stories repeatedly rammed down my throat each and every time I open my Facebook page.  It has gotten so bad in the last couple of weeks, I have considered blocking posts from showing up on page.  Unfortunately, you can’t block based on keywords.  Facebook should rectify that.  Surely they can think up a way to block certain posts without blocking everything my friends are posting.  Since it is just their opinions and not re-posts from other pages, I’m seeing them… a lot.

And I have to fight the urge to comment on them.  This is much harder than one might think.  I have lots of opinions and spewing random facts at people is one of the things I excel at…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Resist the temptation–nothing good ever comes of it. Instead, just click the little arrow to hide the offending post.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Right there with you…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

