NaNo – Day 25


I’m going into my third week of having shingles.  They are starting to scale over, which I’m told is a good thing, they are healing.  However, I’m still mostly housebound… I did go out shopping on Saturday, there were things that were definitely needed in my household.

If I’ve learned nothing else from this experience, I will walk away with the knowledge that I can be housebound for several weeks without going stir crazy, as long as I’m left to my own devices.

Now, I’ve pretty much written nothing.  My NaNo requirements are getting up into the 5,000 words a day to meet my goal… I just don’t foresee that happening.   This is my fourth entry into NaNo and the first time I didn’t accomplish the 50,000 word goal.  And I think that is just something I am going to have to live with.  Even if I started furiously spewing out words right now, I don’t think I would make it.  

Well, maybe I would, but it would be worse drivel than I write now.  My release date for Dark Legacies is February.  That may get pushed to March if things don’t turn around pretty quickly.  This means I need to get over having shingles.  I know they shouldn’t interfere with my writing, but they do.  They itch and hurt and burn and that’s all I can think about when I’m trying to let my mind go into its little creative place.

Heck, for four days now, I’ve been stumbling on a great paragraph about a city engulfed in flames and the smoke towering above the city turning day into night.  When I sit down to write it, my mind pictures the city, but some part of my logical brain begins describing the sensation of burning and my fingers obey that part instead of the creative part.  I end up with paragraphs of burning beings and buildings and concrete turning to lava.  None of it conducive to the story I’m telling.  There’s a time and place for that, but it isn’t in this tale… Perhaps a future Cain novel or something I write to fill the void when the Strachan series is complete.

I’m off to do other things now.  I imagine it will involve a book or mind-numbing TV or a nap…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. glad you are beginning to feel a little bit better…hopefully you will be able to get back to work soon:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

