Audiobook Available!!! Oh and stuff about documentaries…


The audiobook, Tortured Dreams, is officially available on Amazon and Audible.  I’m so excited!  It feels great to have it completed, really completed.  Still waiting for it to show up on iTunes, but hey, we’re two-thirds of the way there.

In other news, I was writing along last night, churning out about 20 words per half hour (yeah, it was that bad… did I mention that for some reason the house flipped over and now they are battling genetically engineered creatures because I couldn’t figure out why the house flipped over?), when a documentary came on TV.  Normally, this is a boost to my writing skills.  I’m used to writing with my SO sitting in the chair next to me, watching whatever it is car guys watch in the evening (Tuesdays are Top Gear).

However, this one sucked me in and I found myself watching intently as a narrator, not David Attenborough, explained life in The Great Barrier Reef.  It dawned on me that I like David Attenborough as a narrator of documentaries on animals.  It was almost disappointing to hear an American voice telling me about The Great Barrier Reef.

On the flip side of that coin, I haven’t a clue why I need to watch more documentaries on animals, sea life or have been narrated by David Attenborough.  As I sat, unable to concentrate on writing because there were lemon sharks on TV, it became very obvious that I have already watched too many of these things.  While I hadn’t seen this particular documentary, I also wasn’t learning anything new.

They say you can never stop learning.  I believe that.  Learning expands the brain and keeps it healthy and churning out fresh ideas and increasing the ability to use your imagination.  But at what point do you have to stop and take stock of what you’ve learned?  I watched this documentary for two hours (and my word average per hour dropped to a pathetic five words) and less than 25% of it was new to me.  I did learn some cool things about seahorses and something disturbing about pearl fish.

Will I ever use this information?  I can’t imagine at what dinner party I’m going to be able to spew out the new information about pearl fish slipping in the back passage-way of sea cucumbers to avoid predators…  Unless of course, I happen to be at a dinner party with David Attenborough.  Then again, I’m sure he already knows this piece of information from narrating something for the BBC.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. WooHoo! Loved the sample on Audible….will have to wait till I get next month’s credit to get this (used the 4 I’d been saving during their sale this last week…lol). I don’t actually watch too many documentaries…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

