Review Tuesday


This past week, I read two books, one children’s book and one short story.  Here are my thoughts:

1.  Hope For Another Day by Devin Berglund – This short story was actually a fable.  It was good.  As I age, I move away from the fantasy genre more and more.  However, this one reminded me of what I used to enjoy about the genre.  Like all fables, there’s a moral to the tale and the moral was done well; the author didn’t ram the meaning down the throat of the reader or brow-beat them with it… a common problem with modern fables.  A very quick, light read for those looking for a fable with a happy ending.

2.  Rise of Satan (The Superstars Trilogy) by Errol Barr –  This was not a light read.  There are multiple, complex plots with subplots that eventually get tied together.  The underlying theme is good v. evil and it is the only thing connecting the plots and subplots.  There were a ton of characters to keep track of… some were easier than others to understand.  The prose was well written and the book was definitely researched and thought out.

3.  The Suburban Monsters by Bryan Higby – This was a children’s book.  The style was a little different; comic book dialogue with full page, children’s book illustrations.  I liked it.  While the book is aimed at younger children (and possibly trying to convince them that monsters really aren’t so bad), it can be enjoyed by anyone.

4.  The Third Heaven (The Rise of Fallen Stars) by Donovan Neal – My only problem with the book was that there was too much description.  While I like description in books, this one seemed to have a bit much at times.  You can only tell me that Lucifer’s skin is like diamonds and makes music constantly so many ways before I start to feel like “yeah, I got that, can we move on?” and unfortunately, that was the case.  In the prologue and first two chapters, I was told his skin sparkled like diamonds no less than six times.  I was also given in depth analysis of why his skin sang on four occasions.  The prose was good, almost lyrical and during the long descriptive passages, I found this to be a distraction.  I have yet to rate it on Amazon because I haven’t a clue how to rate it.  It was well written and deserves some praise, but I didn’t enjoy it.  It felt like “work” and reading should never feel that way.

Disclosure:  I received all 4 of these books free in exchange for my honest opinion.  I am not an Amazon affiliate.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hadena, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed “Hope For Another Day”! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

