That Was Unexpected


Ok, so I thought I just had a really bad migraine.  I was wrong.  I have shingles.

Fun!  The rash started a few days ago, two whole dots.  This morning they started to hurt, kind of, and another formed.  Then I found a few more.  Bring on the doctor!

The headache is part of the shingles.  And the shingles are kind of a giant pain in the butt.  They aren’t oozy and weepy yet, so it isn’t contagious at the moment, but it could become that way at any time.

Talk about a set back!  Since I have an anxiety disorder, I’m more prone to illnesses anyway.  Especially stress related illnesses and that is exactly what my doctor told me today.  Shingles is more likely to hit when you are really stressed.  Great!  I stay stressed.

Now, I am rearranging my life to accommodate shingles…

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I am so sorry you have shingles….my mom had it and it was bad but her doctor gave her Neurontin and it really helped. Not sure what your doctor has or can give you due to your other issues but I hope he is aggressive with it

    Like

    Reply
    • We are treating the pain, but since I had the marks several days before they started to bother me, he says we can’t do much as far as antivirals and things. It will just have to run it’s course.

      Like

      Reply
  2. I had shingles in my legs last year. Worse than a pain the arse! 🙂 Cleared up after three weeks. Roger

    Like

    Reply
    • It is on my neck. I actually have no words to describe it. People keep telling me they will feel like they are burning or on fire… and they do, some, but it isn’t like I just set my skin on fire with a blowtorch, which is what I was expecting. It’s more like I touched a hot pan to my neck for a couple of seconds and the burning isn’t bad, but it’s there and I am always aware of it. They also sort of itch, but it isn’t like a poison ivy itch. I don’t know, it’s about the strangest thing I have ever felt. I had a touch of “flu” about 2 weeks ago and it turns out that was the start of shingles. And today, I just don’t feel very good, although that could be the drugs I’m taking for the headache and strange pain associated with shingles.

      Honestly, it is the strangest thing I have ever encountered. Mine had better clear up faster than that!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

