Kobo & The Dysfunctional Chronicles


Last night, I was checking to see if Mercurial Dreams was available as a pre-order on Kobo yet and I noticed something odd.  Three of the four Dysfunctional Chronicles have been removed.  They are not available on Kobo.  I’ve heard the hype about them tearing down books for erotica, but I sold a copy of Dysfunctional Affair in early October.  I thought they were working it out…

So why now?  Better question, aside from the title, the only thing “adult” about any of the books is the language.  There are even euphemisms to deal with the actual sexually related stuff.

For example; in The Dysfunctional Valentine The Dysfunctional Honeymoon, Nadine is carrying around a pearl thong.  I never call it that though, instead the term “pearls that don’t go around the neck” is used.

However, the fourth in the series, The Dysfunctional Proposal, which does have sex in it (a whole one line: “we made love, not for the first time”) is still available.

I feel so… scandalous and possibly, scandalized.  Not only did I think the witch hunt was over, but they singled me out?  Really?  I’ve sold maybe thirty books total in a year on Kobo.  Hell, I’ve only given away 150 copies of Dark Cotillion on their site.  And what the heck is going to happen when I release Dark Legacies?!?!?  There’s like six lines of sex in it so far and I’m only 11,000 words into it.  And are they really going to screen Mercurial Dreams, a book that is explicitly about a serial killer and an asexual sociopath for overly graphic sexual content?  If I’m going to get my books tossed off their site, it should be for blood, guts, gore, violence and the word “fruck.”

Good grief…

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. For Kobo read Loco!

    Like

    Reply
  2. KOBO has removed all self-published works from its site, I believe. They are pretty much committing economic suicide. I’m glad I never got involved with them.

    Like

    Reply
    • actually, 1 of the Dysfunctional Chronicles and all my Strachan series is still available on the site. I only distribute to them through Smashwords, so it isn’t like it’s hurting my feelings… It’s just odd.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

