Conversion Errors or Something Else?


I’m paranoid by nature, it is part of my anxiety disorder.  Just a reminder, we’ll get back to it.

This morning, I awoke to a long list of proofing errors from my narrator of Tortured Dreams.  Nine of them to be exact, which is a lot of mistakes in 20 chapters.  So I started going through the master file… The errors didn’t exist.

I don’t remember which copy I sent her… the master file or one of the ones that had been gone through a formatter.  I do know my editor made one huge mistake, changing the name of Upton Sinclair to Lewis Sinclair.  However, if mistakes such as missing periods, letters from words (a instead of as, met instead of meet) and missing words altogether (a missing “the” or “and” here and there), do not exist in the master file, why do they exist in any copy I sent her?

Was there a conversion problem?  She changed it to a PDF after I sent her the Word file.  Or is it a conversion problem on the end of the formatter?  Did I send her the Word file they sent me after making formatting changes?  If so, what the heck happened to my text and are my ebooks this screwed up?

I didn’t use a formatter for Elysium Dreams, I did it myself.  I’ve learned enough reading “how to” manuals to be able to format my own books.  But I did use one for Mercurial Dreams… Now, I’m freaking out over how much re-editing needs to be done.

And Elysium Dreams is the only one I haven’t used a formatter on… It is also the only one that I’m not getting lots of reviews that say “needs editing.”  I’m beginning to think there are issues with the conversion using the formatters that I use.  I think I’ll just go back and format Mercurial Dreams myself.  I will also be double checking all my other novels for these types of things.

*shakes head*

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. My original conversion guy made a dog’s breakfast of them for three of my four books. Having been an editor for many years, I tend to do my own editing. Not ideal, but I think I’ve made a pretty good job of it so far. There are some people who now just rely on Amazon to do the job automatically (they’re getting much better at it), although it means forgoing the table of contents, which some regard as superfluous anyway in a work of fiction.

    Like

    Reply
    • I have discovered it is really easy to format an ebook. Elysium Dreams was my test run, then I went back to a formatter, just to save time. However, I had a TOC in Elysium and now that I’m ditching the formatter again, I’m moving the “extraneous” stuff to the back of Mercurial Dreams.

      For the record, I am a terrible editor. Elysium Dreams had over 400 errors in it the first time it went through the editing phase. When I did the read through, I missed some things that the editor had missed, my beta readers pointed them out to me. 😀

      Like

      Reply
  2. I think it could be the conversion myself – when I’ve converted things from PDF to Mobi – I’ve had issues because it depends on the format of the PDF (what version) is being formatted and if there are things in the format that would cause issues in a conversion (such as watermarks which drive me freaking insane!)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

