Horror?


I noticed today on Amazon that 5 of my books are now classified as “horror.”  Elysium Dreams I sort of get… it’s bloody, violent, graphic and gory.  The others, Tortured Dreams, Dark Cotillion, Dark Illumination & Dark Resurrections, not so much.  Sure Tortured has it’s moments, but it isn’t a horror novel… is it?

As I ponder this question, I am left wondering why… Are others tagging it as a horror novel?  I don’t know.  It now seems to fit into five Amazon categories though: mystery-crime, thriller-crime, horror-serial killer, horror-dark, suspense-serial killer.  Except, Amazon doesn’t let me select 5 categories to put it in.

Furthermore, Dark Cotillion and the rest of the Strachan novels are listed as “dark fantasy horror” and Cotillion has been ranked in this Amazon category for over a week now.

But I have a feeling anyone buying these books because they are “horror novels” is going to be disappointed.  They really aren’t intended to be classified that way… yes, in some ways they are dark and disturbing and more times than not, I have pages of blood, guts, gore and things better left locked in the imagination, but I wouldn’t consider them horror (see H.P. Lovecraft if you want good horror).

Feel free to weigh in on the internal debate… Horror or not?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I would have to go with not – I would go more with psychological thriller than horror….to me horror is something that is written with the intent of frightening the reader and bring forth their own feelings of fright and terror. It’s about the secret fears in our minds and as a society

    Like

    Reply
  2. Where do you find genre on your book page? Mine don’t seem to be any category at all.

    Like

    Reply
    • Go to Amazon and search for your name. On the sidebar, under departments, you’ll see a list. It has your books listed as Fantasy & Paranormal Fantasy. If you search me, you find: mystery romance, cozy mystery, dark fantasy horror, paranormal fantasy, crime thrillers, romantic comedy, suspense, horror, & romance. Then as you select the categories, your titles appear in the “appropriate” categories. For the record, I do not write romance, horror, mystery romance, or romantic comedy. I’m not sure I write suspense either.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

