Schreiber’s Secret by Roger Radford


Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.  It contains no spoilers.

I will start by saying I almost never read fictional novels that have anything to do with WWII.  My training as a historian as well as the experiences of some of family make me shy away… the fictional accounts are never gruesome enough to portray the real horror of WWII.

While this book is set in modern day England, it begins and has flashbacks to WWII.  That was the deciding reason for me to read it, it wasn’t solely about the war and I love a good British mystery.  However, it became apparent very quickly that this was not going to be like many of the fictional mysteries that centered around WWII.  It was going to be gruesome and graphic and horrific.  And it was… My kudos to the author for all his research.  He did a fine job of discovering and relaying the information he had found.

Moving away from the war portion and into modern day England, this reads like a good, old fashioned British Detective story.  Now, technically, it’s a good ol’ British Investigative Journalist story, but the fact that the main characters were primarily reporters, didn’t remove the feel of the detective’s tale.

This is not a light read.  The plot was complex enough that it kept me guessing at times.  I finished it, cover to cover in about eight hours.  This made it a long read for me, but there were parts where I had to put the book down, it was a little too close to home for me.  Most people will not have that problem.  They may put it down for a little while to think about what they’ve read, but it picks up again just as easily.  Even when I turned off my Kindle to take a break, I found myself wanting to continue to read… So after a few minutes, the Kindle would pop on again.

It is a stand-alone novel with good depth and research.  The story moves along at a great pace, sometimes moving at light speed, sometimes slowing down to let the reader catch their breath.  The writing itself is great quality.

I enjoyed it so much, that I contacted the author and I am reading the other books Mr. Radford had written (and for me to contact an author is rare).

I highly recommend Schreiber’s Secret (I gave it 5 stars on Amazon).  And I noticed today that Cry of the Needle, a different Roger Radford novel is available for free today.  For hard core mystery lovers, Roger Radford’s novels are sure to appeal to you.  (Mr. Radford is currently only available on Amazon)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

