Burnt Toast


My SO and I had the pleasure of spending the weekend at the campground.  This weekend was special as there was much to do, specifically a chili cook-off.  My mom was able to join us as well and it’s rare for her to get away and enjoy some down time.

However, at the cook-off was a local band from Vandalia, MO called Burnt Toast (see photo).  A two man band with a great sound and a lively act.

They played covers of everything from Eric Clapton to Three Days Grace to Luke Bryant and all of them were fantastic.  They even made Folsom Prison Blues sound good, a feat of no easy measure, considering I actually despise the music of the late Johnny Cash.  Sorry, folks, but it’s true, I’m not a Cash fan… the closest I come is Hurt which Cash remade and is originally a Nine Inch Nails song.

It wasn’t just covers though.  They played a few original songs as well and those… well, those were worthy of praise, heaps of it.  They left my group of four (I’d point out there were five of us, but my father-in-law is a magpie and constantly up wandering and talking to anyone he can find) chattering about the quality of the original stuff, something that is sometimes missing from homegrown music by local bands.  In fact, the four of us enjoyed them so much, they are getting their own blog post today.

I didn’t get much of a chance to talk to them.  They were very busy, playing a four hour set for our somewhat raucous bunch.

And it wasn’t just the music.  They had stage presence.  They had a few routines that were comedic in nature.  They dressed up as ZZ Top, which was hilarious, as my mother-in-law posted a pic to Facebook saying how great the music was and was immediately called by her grandson to complain that we were at a ZZ Top concert and he was not.  The ZZ Top routine was complete with fake beards and black cowboy hats.

The crowd was enlivened by the music, several moved to dance and as the evening wore on, I found myself, normally quite and reserve, bopping my head along and singing all the songs.  I think my favorite was White Wedding by Billy Idol, but then, I’m partial to the song and it wasn’t my favorite by much.

Having said all that, their original stuff kind of moved me.  So check them out, they have a few downloads on their webpage:  Burnt Toast Website

They hang out on Facebook Burnt Toast on Facebook

And you can purchase their full music on CD Baby:  Simple Life  For $8, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with the downloads.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

