$0.99 v. $2.99…Still Confused


Book 1 in my fantasy series, Dark Cotillion, is free.  As of a few days ago, books 2 & 3 were increased to $2.99.

Since changing the prices from $0.99, I’ve had two returns on Amazon.com.  This is about average for me, so I’m not going to stress about it.  However, I have sold more copies of books 2 & 3 in the last couple of days on B&N than I did in all of August and September.

I find that terribly confusing.  Does B&N push the $2.99 books more than the $0.99?  What is going on there, honestly?  So, I increased the price of The Dysfunctional Affair, after all, it’s a full length novel.  On B&N last month, I sold 2 copies at $0.99.  After changing the price a couple of days ago, I have sold 5 on B&N.  It isn’t making me rich, but the increase is noticeable.

So, why is the $0.99 e-book a pariah on B&N, but not on Amazon.  There has to be something different with either the structure of how they push books in adverts or how Nook readers perceive the cheaper e-books.  Amazon might be more “indie friendly,” but B&N seems to be more price sensitive and in a bizarre way.  Higher priced books do better than cheaper books on B&N.

Having this information creates a huge conundrum.  The Dysfunctional Affair is priced different on Amazon than B&N at the moment.  I hate to drop the price on B&N, but I hate raising it on Amazon (it’s the first in the series and I think $0.99 is a good starter book price).  And in December what do I do about Tortured Dreams?  Right now, it’s enrolled in KDP Select to get it out there more (and that’s working), but if the $0.99 e-book doesn’t sell well on B&N, do I raise the price in December when I put it back up on the other sites?  The $0.99 pricing model for the first in a series works really well on Amazon.  But it doesn’t work very well on B&N.

What’s an author to do?  Worse, what do I do with The Dysfunctional Affair?  I don’t think I should leave the two sites priced different, but raising it on Amazon kills the sales, while upping the sales on B&N helps the book.  However, I still make the bulk of my money from Amazon, not B&N.  And what does that mean for The Dreams & Reality Series, where every book but Tortured Dreams is $3.99?  Or the novellas on B&N that accompany The Dysfunctional Affair?

I guess I continue to scratch my head and wait for the answers…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

