Write On


Image09252013204851  I grabbed this magnet when I was at The Strand Book Store in NYC.  Considering in 21 days an ark-load of writers will begin NaNoWriMo, I think it’s appropriate.  After all, November is very stressful for all of us attempting to get 50,000 words into a writing program or some other software in 30 very short days… along with Thanksgiving and Christmas shopping (or any other holidays that may crop up in other countries and religions).

Of course, I love NaNoWriMo, the pressure makes me write and write and write.  It is the only time of the year that I set daily word goals.  The rest of the time, it is solely a weekly word goal.  With NaNo, I have to plan a little more (and oddly, a little less) and attempt to put more than just drivel on the pages.  I’m not sure I manage to put more than just drivel on the pages, but it’s good to have goals.

And NaNoMites have a goal of 50,000 words.  If I slack more than a few days, I’ll miss the goal and sharpie a great big “L” on my forehead (just kidding, I would NEVER do that, I have lines in my forehead, the “L” would look weird, not to mention, be hard to write… and yes, I did just turn Sharpie into a verb, thanks for noticing).

But there’s more to NaNoWriMo than just word goals and novel writing… There’s people.  Writers like me, struggling to meet the goals, taking every free second they can find to get another 100 words in, or hash-out a wonky plot thread that either cropped up unexpectedly or was dropped by accident.

Last year, after NaNo, several of us began meeting once a month and created a group to encourage each other along when November finished.  And despite being me, I fit in with them and enjoy the monthly meetings.  I wish I could attend more of them, but life gets in the way.  Published and unpublished alike, I find I love working with them.  I love reading what everyone has written and where they are going with it and desperately wondering when it’s going to be done so I can sit down and read the whole thing.

I should have bought dozens of these magnets so that when November started, I could hand them out like little inspiration notes to keep my fellow NaNoMites clacking those keys… I know I’ll be staring at it once in a while and doing deep breathing exercises.  So Keep Calm and Write On NaNoMites and at the end of the month, we’ll break out the champagne and red pens.

(PS:  The purple thing is my Kindle cover… yes, I was reading when I decided to snap the pic)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

