No Work & Other Author Stuff


I feel sort of lost today.  I have some writing to do, primarily finessing the prologue of book 4 in The Dreams & Reality Series to insert into the back of Mercurial Dreams and I should probably come up with a title for book 4, but other than that…  There is nothing to write.  I am waiting for November and NaNoWriMo to restart the next Strachan novel (I love the pressure of NaNo).  I don’t really want to add another novella to The Dysfunctional Chronicles just yet (although one is slated and planned, after all, I have a pregnant woman to deal with in it, I’m sure that will be entertaining).

So, instead of writing, I’m taking the next couple of weeks to catch up on my reading.  There is plenty to read and review.

I’ll be reviewing Grammarly’s Grammar Checker tomorrow, I signed up for the free trial and downloaded the Word Plug-In.  Now, I have lots to say about it.

Today, I want to talk about the One Day Freebie through KDP Select.  In graphic, gory detail.

In total, there were over 2000 copies of it downloaded.  Oddly, more were given away in Germany than Canada (Canadians don’t seem to care much for my writing).  Since Germany is the country with the fewest people owning an e-reader in the Western World, I find that significant.  (47 copies in Germany, 19 in Canada… that’s huge).  The US was first with 1,715 downloads, the UK was second with 276 downloads and Germany third with 47.  Even stranger, there were 18 in France, only one fewer than my neighbor to the north.

And I believe sales have begun to roll in already from it.  Between last night and today, I had 9 sales of Elysium Dreams.  That’s the most I’ve had in a single day since July for that particular book.

However, what I really want to discuss is not Tortured Dreams and Elysium Dreams, it’s the law of unintended consequences.

During the Tortured Dreams Freebie Day, I had over 100 downloads of Dark Cotillion.  And more importantly, I had sales on other books.  Not huge sales, but sales enough to make me think that something was going on…  That something was that people were downloading Tortured Dreams, but they were browsing my other works.  Hence the downloads of Dark Cotillion.  

For the record, I did not run an ad saying that Tortured Dreams would be free.  The downloads were not driven by me.  I posted a comment on Facebook and a comment on Twitter, that was the extent of my marketing.

Now, for some more other stuff.  Over the next two weeks, I will be finalizing another blog.  This one dedicated to book reviews and interviews with other authors.  The link will be posted on here the day it launches (for the record, I will not be reviewing my own stuff).  I hope to post three times a week.  Maybe a little more, maybe a little less, depends on the week and what is on my plate.  I hope that most of my readers will follow it as well, but I read enough that posting a few book reviews seems like a good idea and I’m learning to network with other indies (especially ones that I like their books).  I had helping hands in creating my platforms and navigating the tough terrain of the indie world.  This is my chance to give back and let’s be honest, I really like indie writers.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

