24 Hours


This time tomorrow, I’ll be sitting in Lambert International Airport – St. Louis, waiting for my flight to New York.  It’s a non-stop flight.

For the record, I actually dislike flying.  I can do it, but my mind spends most of the time imaging the horrible ways we are going to perish.  Don’t bother telling me how safe air travel is, it doesn’t matter, it is part of my anxiety disorder.  I have issues with motorized travel as well, but I refuse to walk everywhere, besides, that isn’t any safer, it just means I have longer to imagine the automobile that is going to smear me across the concrete.  And yes, unmedicated, I’m a touch agoraphobic.

And now my travel companion has told me I have another reason to be anxious:  Do I go through the X-Ray scanning machine and risk cancer and the ability to have my goodies visible or do I get frisked?  Obviously, I have not traveled by air in a while.  I remember the controversy of the scanners and the US Marshal faux pas of admitting they had stored images.  But I do not like to be touched… my friends and family can touch me.  But others?  Not so much.  Strangers?  ABSOLUTELY NOT!!  Even a friendly hug from someone I don’t know very well, causes me to go stiff as a board and start freaking out.

Add to it that I will already be stressed because I am flying… Yeah, I see bad things happening there.

We leave tonight to go to St. Louis, we have an early morning flight and my travel companion handles mornings like I handle strangers.  So the two hour drive from here to Lambert would really suck in the wee morning hours.

I still have to pack.  I haven’t finished that yet.  I think my carry on bag is larger than my suitcase.  I’m not sure how to explain that…

Now, off to do travel stuff.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

