Endurance by TJ Blake – Book Review


Disclosure:  I received this book free from Story Cartel in exchange for my honest review.

The prologue hooked me… A dystopian, sci-fi, apocalyptic type book… I was there and then it fell apart.

First, after the prologue, you jump back in time, it doesn’t say how much time, but it’s several days worth of time.  This time jump is never really clarified or even addressed.

It turns out that the prologue is chapter 7.  And by the time you get to chapter 7, a lot has happened.  Including the start of the apocalyptic event.  To my mind, it would have been more logical for that beginning to be the prologue, not chapter 7.

Note that time in this book is sketchy.  There are huge gaps of time that get passed by without any real explanation or acknowledgment.

The story seemed a bit disorganized.  However, I do not consider that a huge issue with this story.  The discombobulated nature just lends more credence to the apocalyptic nature of the book.

I felt bad giving the book the 3-star rating that I did, but I couldn’t convince myself to give it a higher rating because it was so hard to follow.  I almost didn’t make it through it.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Hi there Hadena
    Thanks for reading and reviewing Endurance.
    Sorry to hear that you didn’t like the opening being chp7. I thought it was different to have the opening later in the book. Allowing the reader to be in the same situation as Tom. You begin wondering what has happened and who tom is and then you go back I time to experience everything Tom had to and then return to chp7 and go on from there.
    I do hope you enjoyed it and I hope you will want to read the next installment which will be out next year.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

