Work…


I am supposed to be working today, especially since I haven’t written in the two previous days.

Do I feel better?  Yes.  If I had a real job would I call in sick today?  Yes.  They gave me no cough syrups for this bout of bronchitis.  Honestly, I’m fine with that, I hate hydrocodone cough syrup, it makes me gag.  However, I also know why they give it to you.  My entire upper body hurts from coughing.  And not just a dull ache, but sharp pains.  I cannot take in a deep enough breathe to blow my nose.  Moving makes me groan like I’m a freakin’ zombie.

I did sleep better last night though.  I switched recliners.  Did I mention I can’t lay down and sleep?  Well, I can’t.  So even though I hate sleeping on a recliner, that’s where I’ve been sleeping… In the living room, in a recliner.  Of course, the sleep was completely drug induced.  Not only did I take my anxiety medicine, but I took Benedryl and Delsym.  I got about three hours before I woke up, because I was coughing again.  Then I took another dose of Benedryl and slept another hour or so.

Why don’t people stay home when they are sick?  It floored me in school, it floored me in college, it surprised me when I had co-workers.  I just never got it.  Not everyone on the planet has a super-immune system… I would be one of them.  My immune system has never been very good.  In college, I got pneumonia a dozen times or more because students would come to class with pneumonia.  I have lung scarring from it.  The result is that I am even more prone to lung infections now.

Anyway, it turns out that the first night of dart league (a week and a half ago), our bartender was sick with pneumonia and was WORKING.  Half my team is sick, including me.  While none of us got diagnosed with pneumonia, all us sickies got diagnosed with acute bronchitis.

What was the point of this post?  Oh yeah, so I’m supposed to be cranking out words on Mercurial Dreams.  I’d really like to, but without some kind of pain relief and maybe some more sleep, I don’t see it happening.  Maybe tomorrow…

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awww…hang in there! I know how you feel. I hate bronchitis! The last time I had it they didn’t give me the strong cough medicine until I had been coughing so hard for so long that I started coughing up strings of blood. And then they were like, “Oh, well, maybe we should give you some medicine…” Anyway, I promise I’ll never come to our meetings with a contagious sickness 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

