Fantasy Series Update


It might be official, people will buy my fantasy novels at $0.99, but not at $2.99.  I have gone from a 3.8% reader retention rate to a 5.3% retention rate from Dark Cotillion to Dark Illumination. And it is up from 54.9% to 68.1% from Dark Illumination to Dark Resurrections.  I don’t really find this surprising.  I should, but I don’t.  Fantasy just isn’t my forte.

What I do find surprising is the retention rate for my Dysfunctional Chronicles.  I managed to score an ENT ad last week for The Dysfunctional Affair and had good sales (Tortured Dreams did better when it was run on ENT, but it’s a different genre).  I was expecting this to drive down the retention rate from 7.2%, but it didn’t.  It actually increased it to 8.3%.  Even more interesting was all the novella sales that increased.  From Dysfunctional Valentine to Dysfunctional Honeymoon, I had a 79.9% retention rate.  It jumped to 93.4%.  From Dysfunctional Honeymoon to Dysfunctional Proposal was at 50.9% and is now at 72.7%.  And sales continue on all the books.  I’m also grabbing sales of the omnibus for the series (this is not considered in the retention rating).

As for the Dreams & Reality Series… the retention rate has always been high.  It isn’t dropping and I’m finding several readers who read Elysium Dreams before reading Tortured Dreams.  And Elysium Dreams does work as a stand-alone novel, which is my goal for all the novels in the series.

But don’t worry Strachan fans, there are still books in the works and the series will be completed as planned.  There are at least two more in the series, possibly three, it just depends on how the next two plots work out.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 18, 2013

    Fantastic news on the retention rates going up:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

