Adventures in Moth Hunting


I never had kids, I didn’t need to, my nephews moved in with my mother in 2003.  I had just started college (a late starter) and so I helped her to raise them.  The nephews are now 17 and 19 although, both have birthdays coming in October.

One day, I will fully explain my family dynamic.  For now, know that I live with my mother, mostly because of my anxiety disorder.   Two years ago, my SO moved in… And in August, my youngest nephew moved back in after getting out of behavioral rehabilitation (which worked, but only to a small degree, he doesn’t do drugs or steal anymore, but he’s still a handful).

Last night, my ever watchful SO woke me up to tell me there was a strange van in the drive-way.  Okie… I’ll go check it out.  I didn’t recognize the van, my nephew did not answer to my calls and he didn’t answer his phone, although Sprint Family Locator assured me that our phones were very close together.  As I am walking around the mysterious van, I am calling the local police department’s non-emergency number.  There have been a lot of burglaries lately.  Then I see my nephew’s phone, lying on top of the van.  I tell them it was my mistake, pick up his phone and begin the hunt.

I find him, locked in a bedroom with a cute little brunette college student who runs from our house, jumps in said mystery van and takes off like someone has set her on fire.  I can sympathize, nothing like getting caught having sex to make you not want to meet the guardians of the house.

Now, I have no illusions that my nephews are sexually active.  They are teenage boys, they have more hormones than they know what to do with.  However, we prefer they keep it out of the house.  So I’m interviewing my nephew about the circumstances, after all, she’s a college student… Does she live at home?  Nope, but my nephew isn’t keen on her roommate, so they came back here… to deal with his aunt.  I’m paranoid by nature (hence the drugs and anxiety disorder and living at home), put a strange vehicle in my driveway in the dead of night and my mind is going to run away with me.  Couple it with a missing nephew and I was ready to do battle with a bear.  I can’t begin to explain or even tell you all the thoughts that ran through my head.

I feel bad for the girl this morning.  She looked embarrassed.  And she is probably a nice girl.  Boys…

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 11, 2013

    Well….I don’t know what to say….I don’t have kids either…and live with my parents …so in that regard …we have a lot in common…I do have teenage nephews …and one lived with us when he was 16 for about 3 months and he was a handful too but we got lucky and missed any of the girlfriend shenanigans….hope you have an easy night tonight:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

