Sale, Pricing Experiment, & Word Goals


Starting tomorrow, Elysium Dreams will be on sale for $0.99 for 3 days.  If you haven’t grabbed your copy yet, it would be a great time to do it.

A few weeks ago, I dropped the price of my fantasy books to see if that created more reader retention.  After two weeks of data, the answers are still fuzzy.  I’m selling in spurts, which is exactly what I used to do, but the spurts usually apply to multiple books now.  Like on Friday of last week, I sold six copies of Dark Illumination, bringing it up to 4.1%, but by this morning, I was back down to 3.9%.  I do seem to be selling “sets”.  If Dark Illumination has a sale, then Dark Resurrections usually has a sale as well.  It is the first time I have ever sold the exact same number of copies of the two books in a month.  And retention from book 2 to book 3 has increased.  

My writer friend is still riding my butt about expanding too fast.  I’ve been thinking about it… often.  I don’t have a lot of sales on Nook or iBooks or Smashwords. Maybe he is right.  He is a traditionally published author who watches what I do and crunches numbers and tells me what I’m doing right and what I’m doing wrong.  Now, I have a second traditionally published author doing the same thing (he’s a friend of my dad’s).  And he agrees.  I know both of these writers would like to see me succeed, even as an independent author and I respect them both, so my fence sitting is irritating to me.  I feel that I should just take their advice and start putting it to work for me.

And I have to admit, I’ve seen the success that KDP Select can bring.  Their advice is use it for a year or so with my more marketable books and build my name.  Then expand into the other ebook retailers.  I need to make a decision on it, but it’s hard to yank my stuff out of the other marketplaces and rely solely on Amazon to sell books.

My word goal for the week is 15,000 words or more.  I’ve fallen a little behind on Mercurial Dreams.  If I can put down 15,000 words this week, I will be caught up.  Yesterday, I managed 3,067, so I’m on track for it.  I just need to get to it.

And I do have a cold… or whatever this crap is… And I just realized all my books will be $0.99 for three days with the exception of The Dysfunctional Chronicles Omnibus.  How odd…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

