Meadows of Moths


Alice had nothing on me last night.  Normally, my weird dreams are reserved for fevers.  I don’t know if I had one last night or not.  I awoke with a headache and my sciatic nerve bothering me in my back, something I haven’t done since we got the new bed.  Of course, my SO likes to sleep in odd positions and I went to bed very stressed and possibly distressed by the discoloration on my SO’s foot (it appears he sprained his ankle, at least in color and swelling, but it doesn’t hurt… I have no explanation for this).

Back to my dreams.  In one of them, I was running through a field being chased by raccoons.  Big, evil raccoons with shiny eyes and very pointy teeth.  Oddly, I like raccoons. I don’t want to be confronted by one, I think it could and would, kick my butt, but as a general principle, I do like them.  They are kind of cute and are an ecosystem staple, so being chased by mutant evil raccoons is bizarre, even for me.

In another dream, I was trying to rid my house of moths.  Again, I like moths.  I take pictures of moths and butterflies.  I understand their place in the world and for an insect, they are pleasant.  Making it weird that I had bad dreams about moths.

In yet another dream, I was on a subway (there are no subways in Columbia, unless you can’t the restaurants) and the person in the seat next to me spontaneously combusted.  In two weeks, I’m going to NYC and will be on the subway.  Here’s to hoping it wasn’t prophetic.  I don’t think I can handle spontaneous human combustion up close and personal.  I don’t remember what the passenger looked like except fiery.

Needles to say, the third one listed, woke me up.  It was 3 a.m.  When I returned to sleep, my dreams did not get better.

I dreamed that my car exploded while I was loading groceries.  I guess my food choices were not to its liking.  I dreamed that I was lying in a field watching clouds and the clouds began raining mice (for the record, I am terrified of mice).

All I can say is, I hope I’m not getting sick.  My mother-in-law had the crude for several weeks.  My father-in-law has pneumonia and I’m pretty susceptible (damn college students) and I just got over a stomach flu.  My SO has the immune system of a mythical being, he could be exposed to multiple viruses and bacterium at once and never come down with so much as a hiccup.  I, on the other hand, have no immune system (college really did suck and so do co-workers) and just need to be exposed to germs through him to catch something.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 9, 2013

    I hope you are not coming down with anything and this so explains Lucas….lol

    Like

    Reply
    • Actually, I had never considered making Lucas afraid of mice. My content editor came up with Lucas and the mice. I just made it funny. And I did catch the crud from my wonderful mother-in-law, but it isn’t bad enough that I can’t work through it. Lots of Fruit Breezers and NyQuil…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

