Uncertainty & Contradictions


I have a friend that is a complete contradiction of himself.  He’s a writer, not small time or indie like me, but a “best selling” author of many books.  

Recently, I was speaking with him about my audiobook.  His advice, do royalty share… If it flops, you lose nothing, if you become an international bestseller you’ve helped a voice-over actor(ess) achieve their dreams (and quit their day job) and it’s good to help others.  So, I agreed.  Then he came at me again.  I should be doing all my previous novels in audiobooks… now, not later.  I can wait on Elysium Dreams, but I should get Dark Cotillion and The Dysfunctional Affair in the works.  Audio is huge and again, royalty share. 

In the next breath, he was brow beating me because I didn’t do KDP Select for 2 years and build my name.  He and I went over the numbers of Nook and Smashwords.  He was very unhappy about them and kept repeating, you could do better in KDP Select.

Ok, so you want me to expand into audio, but not expand into other ebook markets, yet?  I’m confused.  

Anyway, the back and forth continued for a while.  My argument, royalty share was just giving away money.  His argument, I’m giving away half my money, not all of it and if I have bad sales, it wouldn’t matter.  If I have good sales, it still won’t matter because the producer and I will both be making money.  Then he explained it this way:  What is the difference between being a struggling Indie writer and being a struggling Indie producer?

As he pointed out, writers have been offering me advice & hand-holding & marketing tips… They’ve been helping me along with my struggles to publish and make a name for myself.  Why am I not helping others?

It was my turn again, I do help others.  I make donations to publishing projects on Kickstarter.  I give aspiring authors advice.  And that’s where it ends.  

Realizing he had me beat there, I admitted that I could be doing more.  But is helping Indie Producers the way to help more?  And should I be tearing my books off the other sites and using KDP Select for his 2 year time period?  His answer was a definitive yes.  I’m still hemming and hawing over it.  I understand what he’s saying and I agree with it.  Putting it into action on my own stuff is, well, scary.  

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

