Where (How?) to Start?


After a recurrence of the stomach bug I had in July and the long weekend spent with friends and family, I booted my computer this morning and just started at the screen.

Where to start or how to start my day?  I’m behind on everything.  And honestly, I’d just like to go back to bed for a few more hours because part of this stupid stomach bug is fatigue.  I was exhausted before the weekend started… now, well, I’m way past exhausted.  My brain feels like goo.  My body is screaming at me to go back to bed. I’d like to listen to it.

But I can’t.  Because I have word goals to meet for the week, audiobook auditions to listen to, and a mountain of laundry that needs to be done.

I did take the step to make Tortured Dreams an audiobook.  I have a handful of auditions to listen to and a few emails to sift through about it.  It’s very difficult.  The narrators do not sound like the voices in my head.  Also, if anyone wants to audition, you can check out the offer on ACX.

Mercurial Dreams is in full swing and last week, I fell into a rhythm on it.  I missed my word count goal, but part of that was being sick.  I’m hoping to gain that rhythm back this week.  I feel better, tons better, so I might be able to do some serious damage to the word counts this week.

As for the weekend, it was good.  Friends from Windsor, MO and Kansas City, MO came to the campground.  They went tubing on Mark Twain Lake one day.  The next we toured Hannibal, MO and hung out in the historic town for most of the day.  We even did some things that Jason and I hadn’t done before… which was nice. However, by the time Monday rolled around, we were all ready to go. Needed to be home to get some rest before the return of the week.  Obviously, this didn’t work for me, as I’m still exhausted even though the work week has begun.  But I have high hopes for this week.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  September 3, 2013

    I always feel more exhausted after a longer weekend…don’t know why or what causes it but yeah…I was dragging today too. Take care of yourself – we don’t want you to get really sick:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

