And Since I Didn’t Fail…


Somewhat continued from yesterday:

Since I didn’t fail as an Indie Author, I wasn’t really sure what to do next.  I knew I couldn’t just be carried by the momentum of publishing.  Luckily for me, my NaNoWriMo Group in November had a published author in it… Liz Schulte.  She quickly began giving me advice on advertising and marketing.

And she wasn’t the only one.  Once I started this blog, I found more writers who began offering suggestions.  For example, Misha Burnett began posting advice when he found a spot.  Other writers began recommending I read this blog or that blog for the nuggets of information they contained about marketing, writing, etc. (Thanks writers!)

Then came the fan base… Holy Crap!  I have fans?!  Even a year after I started writing, that sounds so odd in my ears.  Readers who fell in love with this book or that and began to read everything I had ever published.  Tamala, Francis, Maria, and Lavada instantly come to mind.  Each found my work a different way and talk to me regularly about it; what they liked, didn’t like, where they found errors, etc.  They were the first three non-family, non-friends to become as interested in my writing as my family and friends.  (Thanks gals!)

And finally, because I was still unsure about releasing The Dysfunctional Affair or Tortured Dreams… My dad knows an indie book store owner in town, he gave copies of my books to the owner.  He read them during the course of a week and came back to tell me these words:  While the subject matter in the Strachan series is questionable and could be offensive, it is better written than almost any fantasy series I’ve ever read, you hands down are a better writer than _________ and __________.  The Dysfunctional Affair was hilarious, I’d rate it there with Janet Evanovich and her Plum series.  Tortured Dreams is really good, it’s a novel idea to try to make a sociopath likable and succeed.  You have a great future.  In July the same owner came back to me with his thoughts on Elysium Dreams.  He had this to say about it: You are there.  Elysium Dreams blew me away.  It was better than most of the “big” mystery/thriller writers I’ve read.  I know why they offered you contracts.  It wasn’t to get rid of you, it was to protect their find.  (For the record, this owner used to be invited to speak at conferences all the time.  He’s gotten older and doesn’t do it anymore, but to have his stamp of approval is amazing.)_

So I thought about what he said, they did it protect their find.  It took me a minute, but I finally got it.  They wanted to own the characters because they didn’t want me to put out three books with them and then move myself and the characters they were staking money on to another publishing house.  It was their way of keeping me there…

On a funny note, anyone who read my earlier Cain novels has told me that one of the publishing houses that offered me a contract stole my idea.  In the original novels (remember there are 15 that will never be released), Malachi Blake is a FBI Agent, a psychopath and a serial killer of serial killers.

Anyway, I will continue to write and produce and give thanks to those that deserve it.  I’m hoping in the near future to be able to start releasing audiobooks for the Dreams and Reality series.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

