The Mistake


Yesterday, in my replies I mentioned that I had made a publishing gaff.  And it was something I had never planned on talking about, but decided early yesterday morning to share my experience.

The first book I published was Dark Cotillion.  It was barely edited with a basic, stock cover created on CreateSpace.  And it was released to make others hush up.  Several family members and friends were on me to start indie-publishing, since I couldn’t get a contract with a writing house that I liked.

I wrote the follow up, Dark Illumination, just to prove that my writing wasn’t good enough to be in print… I mean I couldn’t get a good contract, why should I be published?  

On 31 August 2012, I published Dark Cotillion and much to my surprise, it started to sell.  I wrote and edited Dark Illumination, had a dart player do the cover art because I didn’t know how to find a cover artist yet, and published it in November of 2012. 

Much to my surprise, it also sold.  

Somehow, I became the accidental indie author.  With both books selling decent (I was making more than my minimum requirement every month), my family and friends were even more persistent.  I found a cover artist and an editor and made plans to release Tortured Dreams.  But something went wrong and I had to find a cover artist so I could release The Dysfunctional Affair instead.  Which I did…

I know you are wondering where the mistake was… I should have started with The Dysfunctional Affair or Tortured Dreams.  Sure I read a little fantasy, but not much.  However, I specifically released Dark Cotillion, because I knew it wouldn’t sell.  I was setting myself up for failure as an indie author.  

A year later, I find I’m not a failure, despite releasing a novel I was expecting to fail.  I don’t know exactly how that works, but there you have it.  I was setting myself up to fail and instead, the Strachan series found fans.  The Dysfunctional Chronicles found fans.  And The Dreams and Reality Series found fans. 

However, there was a positive outcome.  I realized that the reason my writing contracts always sucked was not because I was a bad writer, but because I was a good writer.  

I continue to write and sell books and every month the sales climb a little higher.  And I hope by this time next year, I can honestly say, I make a good living doing what I love… writing.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for your very honest post.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thank you! I have always been a writer at heart, but after half a dozen or so contract offers, all with crappy terms, I had convinced myself that they didn’t want me as the writer, they wanted my characters and I would be let go the moment they could and my characters turned over to someone who could write. So, I went into this expecting to fail, hoping to fail even, just so I could point out those contract offers & the indie books and say see I am a crappy writer. Instead, I learned that I was a good writer.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

