I Love Your Book!


Thank you.

I get told “I loved _______!” all the time.  I understand, I love the books I write too.  If they’d let me write reviews of my own stuff, I would and I’d be honest (I know Dark Cotillion is cumbersome and unwieldy and I’ve thought about revising it at least 100 times in the past year, but I always find the same flaw with revising it… It sort of needs to be cumbersome and unwieldy, perhaps some of the transitions could be smoother, perhaps some sections could be shortened, but would everything I need to have come across, come across at that point?  I don’t think it would, so I leave it), so Dark Cotillion would rank 3 or 4 stars for me.  

Somehow, I got distracted on the first paragraph… Back on point, please.

So you loved my book, great!  I appreciate that.  Did you write a review?  Oh, you didn’t?  Hmmmm….  😦

As a writer I would love for everyone who reads my book to review it; love it or hate it or somewhere in between.  Authors may not read their reviews very often (for reasons of vanity), but we check to see if we have them all the time (I know I’m not alone in this) and I know from day to day how many reviews my books have.

Instead of just telling me how much you loved it, tell the world how much you loved it… Go write a review on Amazon or where ever you got it.

Think of this as a relationship; sure you tell your Significant Other you love them, but you also show them.  Writing a review shows that you loved a book, writing a review of multiple books by the same author shows that you love that author.

And it’s very helpful.  Because other people are going to see your review and buy my book based on it.

As any good writer knows, it’s better to show than tell… (Alas, I know that reviewing sucks.  It is hard to tell what you liked and didn’t like about a book, thinking of the minimum 20 words is like having your teeth yanked out, but trust me, your favorite author will be grateful that you took the time to string those 20 words together and get them another recommendation to a potential reader)

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

