Book Review… Sort Of… “The Seventh Crane” by Birgitte Rasine


Ok, so I do read a ton and I get free books from Story Cartel as well as other places and I don’t mind letting my followers, writers and fellow readers knowing what I’ve read and enjoyed.  Will there be a rating system?

Sure, why not.  Ratings:

I hated it a lot.

I didn’t exactly hate it.

I enjoyed it.

I would recommend it.

Yesterday morning, I had a to-do list a mile long that included laundry, dishes, vacuuming, unpacking crap from our suitcase that didn’t get done on Monday or Sunday, etc.  While I was working on all this domestic stuff that I hate with more vehemence than you can imagine (I am soooooooooooooo not the domestic type), I read The Seventh Crane by Birgitte Rasine.

I have read one of her other stories, Verse in Arabic and enjoyed it enough that I recommended it to a few people that I know who enjoy literary fiction (or short mysteries with a dramatic flare)…. meaning I had no qualms about picking up The Seventh Crane this morning to entertain me while I adhered to my domestic duties (PS:  I got this book free from Story Cartel for my honest opinion, I posted my Amazon review and gave it 4 stars).

I enjoyed it.  I like her style of writing.  She has beautiful prose.  Her words and sentence structure are perfectly tuned to create an image in my mind that just speaks to me.

The Seventh Crane did require a small amount of adjustment time.  The story is told from both the POV of cranes and a female unnamed character.  Sometimes the transitions between the cranes and the human blended together and it took a moment to find which character was front and center.

It is definitely literary fiction.  I’m more of a blood, guts and gore girl at heart, preferring my stories dark, seedy and full of thrilleresque plot twists and just a dash of horror.

That does not stop me from enjoying Birgitte Rasine or The Seventh Crane.  I’m sure it has a lot to do with her style of writing and the fluidity of her prose, since it isn’t really my thing.  I really liked the story of the cranes and the generational differences.  But I like stories about animals.

So there is my review of The Seventh Crane.  If LitFiction is your thing, it’s only $0.99 on Amazon.com and well worth the time and money.  If it isn’t your thing, being in the mind of cranes is kind of interesting and might still be worth $0.99.

Off to work… time to spill some blood, desiccate some organs and make my serial killer as creepy and normal as possible.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

