Blah


The Monday after an all weekend dart tournament is kind of blah…

We stayed in a non-smoking room and at this particular hotel, that means my sinuses are dry and my throat hurts every morning.  People tell me it’s from not having a cigarette for a couple of hours, but I don’t do that in other hotels when we stay in non-smoking rooms.  I think it’s recycled air, because I have this exact same problem when I fly.

The tournament was good.  I saw a ton of people that I only see a few times of year, some of them are definitely in my “favorite people” category.  Oddly, I had twenty business cards in my wallet and now I have two.  So obviously I networked (the shirt my mother-in-law got me for Christmas helped, I wore it on Saturday and people kept asking me “is that what you do?”) and lots of the female darters read.  (In case I haven’t mentioned it, my mother-in-law got me a shirt that says “Careful, or you’ll end up in my next novel”… I love that shirt)

Overall, the team didn’t place last, which is always a good thing.  I haven’t seen the finalized stats, but I know we weren’t last going into the final event and we did well, overall, in it.

Which is why I’m sore today.  I can throw darts for hours, but I wasn’t just throwing, I was chalking.  The job of the chalker is to stand at the score board, very still and do the math, for the entire game, whether it be two legs, three legs or five legs.  I promised one of my players that if he played singles, I’d chalk all his matches (he is in the process of having eye surgery).  So I did.  I can stand for long periods of time, but it gets harder when you have to stand still, moving only your arms and hands.  Plus, I realized I need new shoes.  My feet and calves are killing me.  This is a sign my shoes are junk (they are about 4 years old) and need to be replaced.

However, I did play one event.  I lost in the first round, but I threw the best darts I had thrown in months.  It would seem that I have been needing to turn my foot just a little bit more so that I can follow through with my stroke.

And that was my weekend.  Today is recovery day.  I’ll write some, but I won’t push it.  I have laundry to do and I need to do some stretching a few times to keep from getting stiff.  I might even take a nap.  We’ll see.  Oh and league starts tonight in JC…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I didn’t even know there were dart tournaments. It sounds fun! I’ve always thought playing darts is fun, though I’m not very good at it.

    Like

    Reply
    • I go to about 8 or 9 tournaments a year, but I play league every Wednesday and once in a while on Monday. However, my SO and another player (the one having eye surgery) are talking about going to tons more after he gets his eyes fixed.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

