So You Had A Bad Day


There is a commercial with song lyrics in the background that says so you had a bad day…. I don’t remember what the commercial is for … probably insurance… but it pretty much sums up my day.

It started out fine. A delayed blog post because I was supposed to attend a Mary Kay party, invited by Brianna of Not So Easy, Breezy blog and upcoming novelist. Since the day had serious promise (I am not a fitly girl or terribly social), I figured blogging about the experience was in order.

But the Fates gazed upon and decided to pull a practical joke.

My SO went to the campground to work. I stayed home to do the same. I awoke, dressed and joined my mother (who is nothing like Melina) garage saling. After that, I had to run my SO’s overnight bag to his work, then I came home and started work.

I had written about 100 words when I discovered a problem. The cyst on my right ovary was bothering me. In two weeks, it is scheduled to be ultrasounded. I’ve had it for about a year and while it is uncomfortably large, it is considered stable. IE: surgery unneeded. It will disappear over time.

Yet, as I wrote I realized the pain was intensifying. This is not my first cyst. I know the signs. I put a driver on alert and crawled onto my bed. I didn’t pass out, that is always good and as the pain leveled off, I headed to the ER.

Stable my foot… it ruptured with approximately the same force as a large nuclear bomb erupting in my side. The check in nurse streamed lined all the tests because despite telling her it was a cyst, she was intent on calling it acute appendicitis.

It wasn’t, I was injected with morphine and Benedryl and sent home, with instructions to take Advil to manage the pain. FYI Advil might as well be Pez when it comes to the first 48 hours of a ruptured cyst. Benedryl works better, but only because it knocks me out.

This effectively ruined my day. I have a writer’s meeting tomorrow. I am hoping it doesn’t ruin that too. On a positive note, my content editor was nice enough to bring by the edits for the next Daniels’ novella

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

