Nadine Moments


We all have moments when our brain seems to leak out our ears and puddle on the floor at our feet while we attempt to do something important and screw it up, big time.  Since beginning The Dysfunctional Chronicles I have actually begun to refer to those as Nadine Moments.

Yesterday I had a big one.  Guys who are squeamish about Girly Things, stop reading now.

I got up and dressed in a hurry yesterday morning.  I needed to take my SO to work and head to Perry, MO to order a building that is going to be turned into a shed.  My SO dressed faster than me, meaning I really had to hurry and while putting on my bra, I realized that there was something wrong with the hooks.  I got it fastened and swore at it in my head, because I knew that I was either going to have to replace the bra and it’s one of my favorites or fix the hooks on it.

My drive to Perry was uneventful.  On the ride home, I finally got in touch with my friend Karen (her husband was in the motorcycle wreck this weekend).  As I talked to her, I noticed something was tickling my shoulder.  I waited until we hung up, then I dug down in my shirt to remove what I figured was the offending stray hair.  Except it wasn’t.  It was the ribbon from my bra strap.  This particular bra has two very small bows on the straps where they meet the cups.  The ribbon had never bothered me before.  I didn’t chance investigating it in the car and continued home.  If the ribbon was coming undone, there was no reason to save the hooks and therefore, my favorite undergarment.

When I got home, my first stop was the bedroom.  I ripped off the shirt to examine the ribbon.  My bra was inside out.  At least I got to keep said undergarment.

For the men that read it, bras are put on using muscle memory.  We do not have see it to latch the hooks and we can tell, even without looking, when there is something wrong.

That was my Nadine Moment for yesterday.  I could see her doing something like this and going the entire day wondering what the hell was wrong with her bra…

PS:  I have about 1 of these moments a day.  Three days ago, it was crawling into bed and twisting my ankle.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maria D.

     /  August 9, 2013

    Lol….this has happened to me before

    Like

    Reply
    • Hadena James

       /  August 9, 2013

      I’m glad I’m not alone… 😀 I almost scrapped the post, but I had a “I want to prove I’m a real person” moment, so I went ahead with the post. Besides, it was kind of funny.

      Like

      Reply
  2. kraftyvada

     /  August 12, 2013

    Love it! Needed a laugh tonight!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

