Stars in Reviews – Interpretations


As a reader, I have a much different review stance on stars than I do as a writer. Here is the reader/writer difference.

Reader
5-Stars: I loved it!
4-Stars: Really Good!
3-Stars: Not Bad.
2-Stars: Not Good.
1-Stars: Awful… Don’t bother even if its free.

Writer
5-Stars: They liked it. They will probably buy my other books.
4-Stars: They enjoyed it. They might be another book by me.
3-Stars: They hated it.
2-Stars: It made their 100 Worst Books Ever List
1-Star: It made the top 10 on the Worst Books Ever List and might be in the #1 spot

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. What writers want to say to reviewers.

    5-Stars: I love you!
    4-Stars: I like you.
    3-Stars: What’s wrong with you?
    2-Stars: I’ll kill you!
    1-Star: Slowly.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hadena James

       /  August 8, 2013

      For me, stars 2 & 1 would be more like: I’m going to make you a victim in my next novel (2-star). I’m going to make my serial killer do awful things to your flayed, charred, horribly mutilated body. And when my SK is done with you, they are turning on your friends and family and maybe any pets (1-Star). A 3-star might make me ask them “is English your native language? Maybe something was lost in translation.”

      Like

      Reply
  2. Hadena James

     /  August 9, 2013

    My new one is creating mummies…

    Like

    Reply
  3. Maria D.

     /  August 10, 2013

    Lol….you are cracking me up!

    Seriously a lot of sites do explain their ratings

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

