In A Bad, Bad Mood


My SO’s parting shot this morning soured my mood.  Yesterday, he chewed on my ass about how I never want to do anything with him, I’m always on the computer or my Kindle.  I put both away and we headed out.

We stopped at Bass Pro Shop.  I don’t mind Bass Pro Shop, but once, maybe twice a year is enough for me.  I don’t hunt, I don’t lure fish and our camping is done with a camper, not a tent.  This means unless I need a new fishing pole, there is very little reason for me to go into Bass Pro.  As we wandered around the clearance stuff in a tent, I told him I needed to go to Lane Bryant.  We finished the tent sale and went inside.  We bought nothing and left.

Our next stop was the park.  Parks I like, a lot.  So we wandered around the park for about thirty minutes.  Then it was off to Big Lots.  There was an item on our shopping list at Big Lots.  We are looking through the store, find the item, check out a few more things and I once again mention I need to go to Lane Bryant.

We finish at Big Lots and go get ice cream.  After ice cream, we go for a ride.  We meander into McBaine, Easely, down River Road and look at the Mighty Muddy Missouri River.  We end up on Route M in Ashland and make our way towards Hartsburg.  I’ve never been to Hartsburg (Home of the Pumpkin Festival), it turned out to be much smaller than I expected.  Then we head back to town.  We stop at his parents’ house.  Hang out there for about thirty minutes, then we come home.

He never even acknowledged my desire to go to Lane Bryant.  We come home, I try to take a nap, he wakes me because I’m snoring.  I get up and we watch part of Men In Black II while grilling dinner.  After dinner, we put in Hero and the Terror.  I’m not a huge Chuck Norris fan, but I do like that movie (he has a few facial expressions in it) and surprisingly, I do like Steve James.  I do not touch my laptop or my Kindle.  He plays on his iPhone though – Golf Solitaire and Facebook.

Movie over, he heads to the bedroom to watch Rock My RV with Bret Michaels and Drag Racing (he channel surfs during commercials).  I work, meaning I spend two hours writing.  At 10 p.m., I head to bed.  We end up watching all of Beverly Hills Cop before we can go to sleep.

This morning, I get up 20 minutes before him.  I check book sales, Facebook and open up Words With Friends.  I have a dozen or so games going, three with his mother and she has her words in for the morning.  I’m putting in my words when he says “Already playing games.”  No I love you.  No see you at lunch.  None of that.  He shakes his head and walks out the door.

It just irritates me to no end.  I feel like everything is supposed to revolve around him.  I’m supposed to watch whatever he is watching, I’m supposed to want to do whatever it is he wants to do, but the same is not true in reverse.  Then he wonders why I am always busying myself with other stuff…

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Rosanne

     /  July 29, 2013

    I can really, really relate to this. It’s the entitlement that the male species has – very irritating.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

