Woman = Romantic Thriller ?!?!


Instead of spending money on a blog tour for Tortured Dreams, I decided to trek out on my own and solicit bloggers myself.

First, let me say this is a grueling process.  I was lucky enough to have a few reviewers from Tortured Dreams get very psyched about the release of Elysium Dreams and that helped me out tons (thanks gals!).  Now, I know why there are companies that arrange these things.

Second, I would like to say that yes, I am a female writer.  This seems to be a strike against me, but we’ll get to it in a minute.

Third, I keep getting one of these two responses: I don’t review romantic thrillers or I don’t do gory books.

Now, back to my second point.  Yes, I am a female writer.  This does not mean that Tortured Dreams or any books in The Dreams & Reality Series are romantic thrillers.  As a matter of fact, they are about as far from romantic as one can get.  Aislinn is basically asexual (a side-effect of being a sociopath) and they are hunting serial killers, no time for love when you are constantly working.  Nowhere in the synopsis of any of my books in this series does it even elude to the idea that it might be a romantic thriller.

This leads me to believe that people are assuming it is a romantic thriller simply because I am a female writer.

I have no trouble being rejected for gore factor or language or violence.  I do take issue with the assumption that a woman cannot write a hard-core, gore-filled thriller without tossing in some romance and maybe a little nookie.

So, I’m off to find a tour company to peddle Tortured Dreams and wait for the reviewers to be horrified that a woman wrote a book that included no romance but a little bit of bad language and a little bit of gore (for the record, I even upped the gore-factor in Elysium Dreams… It reads more like a psychological horror-thriller than a mystery, but it is getting great reviews).

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. anonymous

     /  July 26, 2013

    and I have seen Hadena try to write a romance novel… It wasn’t a pretty sight. I couldn’t get past the first 5 pages of it.

    Trust me, she is much better at gore…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

