Write, Write, Write…


This is the mantra of every writer.  Write, write, write, write…

Even this weekend, I wrote in my blog.  As I sat on my porch Saturday, smoking the last cigarette of the evening, I had my bobcat moment.  (For the record, there really is a bobcat and it terrorizes the dogs that live there permanently… They are penned and (s)he isn’t… I imagine it just skulking around their cages… tormenting them with its freedom… and Saturday night, it was skulking again… I never saw it, have never seen it, but I heard it Saturday night… An odd sound, not quite a growl…)

However, that is the heart and soul of what I do every day.  I imagine.  My imagination runs rampant, constantly creating new scenes, each evolving and moving forward.

And while it is important to put words to paper, without the imagination to fuel it, there are no words to put down.  No letters for the keyboard to hit.

So occasionally, I have to stop the “write, write, write” manta and go back to the “imagine, imagine, imagine” mantra.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. We usually refer to the Bobcat’s growl as a scream. It almost sounds like a woman screaming. Oddly enough, a mountain lion can sound about the same, only louder (and they are around!).

    Night time in the country is great for fueling the imagination. Bring a friend though, sometimes our imaginations run away with us!

    Like

    Reply
    • A bobcat scream is rare. They are more likely to growl and they are classified as “big cats” unlike mountain lions, because they can make a range of lower notes. However, yes, the darkness in a semi-wilderness is a great place to fuel the imagination.

      My first trip to the campground, I kept thinking that there was something wrong with the planet Venus. I couldn’t identify the “star” I was looking at, I just knew it was incredibly bright.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

