In the Dark


There was a halo around the moon last night. I know it’s a bad omen, but my memory doesn’t offer up the reason for it.

Up here, everything is different. You can see the Milky Way. Stars that don’t exist in the city become visible. Venus takes on a glow bright enough to make you question its classification as a planet.

And something swishes through the darkness.

A dog howls. The reply it gets is definitely not canine. The dog whimpers in return.

I can’t see it, but my mind can imagine the German Shepherd slinking away, tail between its legs. Tonight it was out predatored.

I search the darkness for movement. I am rewarded with nothing. But somewhere in the dark, the bobcat continues to move.

I’ve never been lucky enough to see him. I hear him a handful of times each year though. Once, I caught a glimpse of moving grass and heard him growl as he went past. But that’s as close as I’ve come.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. “when there’s a halo around the moon, rain or snow are coming soon”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

