Why Aren’t You Breeding?!?


I get asked often: when are you and Jason going to start having wee-ones? When we begin colonizing a Goldilock’s planet, that’s when. Since it is terribly unlikely to happen in my lifetime… never.

I am not maternal. Never have been. Of course, I can’t say that because if I do, it is followed with: did you have a bad childhood?

As a matter of fact, no, I did not have a bad childhood. While my parents were not winning any awards, I actually had a good childhood. Were there issues? Yes, but doesn’t every family have issues?

There was always food on the table, no matter how lean the cash flow was… There were always books to read, even if they weren’t the latest best-sellers. I always had clean clothes and no, they weren’t brand names, but they covered me and kept me warm. I was never homeless, never abused, and my parents taught me lessons with a belt, but I was strong-willed enough that sometimes a belt was the only way to get through to me.

My sister (ten years my senior) tortured me some, but that’s what siblings do. So no, my childhood was not a deciding factor in my not wanting children.

I simply don’t like children… even as a child, I wasn’t a fan. Some people are like that. Does that change my identifiers? It shouldn’t. I am still a woman, I’m just a woman who will never have daycare bills or have to run to the store for diapers at 3 am. I’m good with that.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Trust me, the questions don’t stop just because you have kids. Lol. People will always want to know if you will be following the same path that they chose, and they will advocate for that path because they wouldn’t have taken it if it didn’t mean something to them. I can’t tell you how many times people have asked me if I will be having any more kids and then frowned sadly when I said probably not- at least biologically. But, I guess we all do that sometimes- assume that our worldview or preferences surely are the same as everyone else’s.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

