McHale’s Navy, Kafka, Congo, Oklahoma, Hernia


Last night, as I watched McHale’s Navy, I was struck by something Tim Curry said. It reminded me of Kafka. Which made me think of the movie Congo and that made me think of Helen Hunt (I don’t know why) and that led to thoughts of Oklahoma where we have a dart friend who recently had surgery for a hernia which brought my thoughts back to me because I have an ovarian cyst that bothers me from time to time.

The connections the mind makes is an unusual thing. The scattered nature of our random thoughts are still capable of making connections between things that seem unrelated.

Stream of Concious like that above is a tried and true writer’s trick. One I rarely use because my first writing exercise of the day is always taken care of… This blog.

Yes, I am a bit of a prolific blogger. It gets the writing juices flowing in the morning. Sometimes, the posts are planned. Most of the time they are organically grown from my awakening mind.

However, a writing exercise, no matter the form, is still a prod to get the neurons firing and the brain stringing sentences together.

So good morning readers and brain… It is time to start the day!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Huh. Never considered writing blog posts exercises in writing, but they are. Good to know I’m working out my writing brain at least 3-4 times a week 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • You are! Even when your posts are unplanned and “uninteresting” it requires you to flex your brain to create a coherent post. 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

