What Comes Out Of The Dryer…


Everyone is familiar with Sock Monsters. It seems inevitable that your dryer is going to eat a sock now and then… It is expected and accepted dryer behavior.

For any one that has children, there is another dryer anomaly… how did that get into the dryer?

When my nephews were younger finding candy, gum, small toys and a wide range of other non-clothing items in the dryer wasn’t unusual. It didn’t matter how well you went through their pockets before tossing them into the washing machine, about once a month you would pull out something that didn’t belong. Gum was always the most destructive.

After a weekend of having dogs, I tossed my comforter into the wash yesterday. When I pulled it from the dryer, a car fuse fell out.

Now, I have pulled out wrenches, bolts, melted candy bars, even a small package of freeze-dried meal worms (long story), but the car fuse is a first. And I am disturbed that it came from my comforter. Years of having boys has trained me to check the dryer. It wasn’t there before I washed the bed clothes.

I have no doubt that it was picked up by my SO, either at work or helping with the cars on Saturday night… I am just wondering how it ended up in our bed.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I saw a photo on Pinterest the other day where a mother saved the things she pulled out of her boy’s pockets while doing the laundry over the years and put them all in a glass container. She made a lamp out of it and gave it to him when he went to college.

    Like

    Reply
    • With my oldest nephew it would have been Reece’s Peanut Butter Cup wrappers and screws.

      With my youngest it would have been Airhead wrappers and Allen Wrenches.

      Now, with my SO, it is master keys to lawnmowers & tractors and fuses. 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

