New Experiences Create Growth


Saturday night, my SO decided we would go to the races – Mini-Sprints on a dirt track, to be exact. I am not a huge fan of racing, however I do live in Columbia, MO (a town of 100,000 people) and as any racing fan knows, the home of Carl Edwards.

Anyway, as a result of Columbia’s #1 Son, it is impossible to be completely oblivious to the sport.

However, Saturday was completely different. We had friends racing in the mini-sprint cars (Tom & Brooke Hassler). One drove a winged mini-sprint, the other a non-winged. I do not know the difference, so we will not get into specifics.

The first thing that became apparent was that our friends were not going to fit. The cars look like soap-box derby racers made of steel and aluminum. Tom & his brother, Brooke, are both taller than my SO who is 6’1″. The logistics of their height and the smallness of the car were mind-boggling. Defying the laws of physics, they did climb into the cars without limbs or their heads sticking out.

I watched the hot laps and the heat races trying to understand what was going on (it isn’t just right turns, there are points for passing and things).  Most of the time, I consider myself pretty smart, this made me feel a bit like an idiot, I never did figure out the points system.

During the heat races, I discovered something that no one had warned me about… Dirt clods were being tossed at me from the cars going into the corners.  We were in the Pit area and I was in the Pit bleachers, on a corner.  One knocked me pretty good in the face.  I expected a bruise yesterday and have no idea how I managed to not get one from it.

The dirt was also coating my hair.  When the main feature started (the actual race), I stole my SO’s baseball hat to cover up my hair.

What I learned?  Hot laps are boring.  The heat races confusing.  I enjoyed watching the features that our friends were racing in… but there were side effects.

I took earplugs (I value my hearing).  I am very glad I had earplugs.  However, on the way home I could still hear the droning, high pitched buzzing of millions of pissed off hornets.  The cars use motorcycle engines and the high-pitched whining buzz reminds exactly of the sound of angry wasps, only amplified by a billion.  Even as I slept, the sound invaded my dreams.

There was also a smell of burning oil, all the time, that hung in the air.

Together, the noise and smell helped create a headache.

It was an interesting experience, I don’t think I’ll be repeating it anytime soon, but I won’t say never…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Maria D.

     /  July 15, 2013

    Lol…sounds like you had a good time.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

