I Wrote What?!?!?


Now that Elysium Dreams has released and my fellow novelist group authors are knee-deep in CampNaNo, I want to share an “I wrote what” moment from the book.

The Scene: Aislinn, Xavier and Dr. Ericson are in the morgue with a new victim. Xavier is wearing a vinyl protective suit, a HEPA mask and maginifying goggles.

For some reason, Aislinn’s next thought (after thinking how much she wants to call him something akin to a bug-eyed freak) was “I was desperate to be alone with him.”

WHAT?!?!?!  

First, Ace is as close to being an asexual human being as I can write.  Second, even if she wasn’t, Xavier certainly would not be her type.  Third, in no universe would Ace be desperate to be alone with anyone.  Fourth, I wrote that crap?!?!

Yes, as a matter of fact, I did, in an Aislinn Cain novel, with the thought coming from Aislinn.  What was I thinking?  I haven’t a clue.  I’m sure it was probably not a typo or a misthought.  It probably had a lot to do with Aislinn desperately wanting to vocalize her opinion of Xavier’s unconventional (even for Xavier) appearance.  However, to word it in that specific way… Yeah, my content editor laughed until she was crying and couldn’t breathe.  I scratched my head and wondered what I had been thinking at the time.  Surely it was more logical than what ended up on the page, but then again, maybe not.

We all have those moments.  I had a few of those moments in Elysium Dreams.  None quite as funny as the moment of “desperation” by Aislinn, but pretty close.  Tomorrow, I may share a few more…

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love to hear about things that make the cutting room floor. A large chunk of my first novel is in a delete folder!

    Like

    Reply
    • Tomorrow, I’ll post a few more passages that didn’t make the final novel. For example, there is a moment when Ace goes all creepy and says something that Lucas had a great comeback on… But I have no idea why it was in there in the first place!

      Like

      Reply
      • Don’t you hate it when you have to delete a great comeback! Or a great line/scene? Anything you love makes it hard to cut.

        Like

  2. I do, but Aislinn should NOT have said it… especially in creepy mode.

    It was so wrong, it had to go!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

