The Soundtrack of My Life


For some bizarre reason that only the gods understand, music plays in my head constantly.  It is more annoying than a radio, but at least I didn’t need music to have music.

I say annoying because it is usually only one or two songs that play over and over in my head… all day… and into the night… then I wake up with new music playing in my head the next morning.

Monday it was Mortal Kombat the theme song, which is far less of a song than it is just people speaking lines from the film set to music.  This was followed Monday evening by Juke Joint Jezebel, no doubt because the KMFDM song was featured on the Mortal Kombat Soundtrack (as well as the techno music in Club Hell during the film Bad Boys).

Tuesday I woke up to Bed of Roses by Bon Jovi.  Not exactly great music for writing on a Strachan novel.  Brenna doesn’t have a sense of humor, not even a warped one and she’s terrified of sex.  Love songs by Bon Jovi are just not her style.  So, I ate a couple of donuts to get into Strachan mode.  By evening, the song had changed, but not the theme.  I found another love ballad, this one slightly odder, but still a love ballad: Without You by David Bowie from the movie Labyrinth.

Since the writing music in my head was not cooperating, I avoided working on Dark Legacies.  Instead I started working on the Daniels’ novella that I had been stuck on.  After all, love songs work for The Dysfunctional Chronicles.  I put 200 words on Dark Legacies and around 1000 on Dysfunctional Chronicles #4.  

So, I wake up this morning fully expecting love ballads to work on the Dysfunctional Chronicles.  No such luck, the song in my head today: The Final Countdown by Europe.  Um, not what I was expecting and I’m pretty sure that doesn’t apply to any of my current books.  Oh wait, yes it does… Elysium Dreams.  As it sits waiting to be released in ebook (the paperback has already released for some reason)… However, I can’t imagine life with Final Countdown stuck in my head for four days… I don’t even like the song very well.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. It could be worse – I once spent two entire days with “Who Let the Dogs Out” in my head. I can’t even imagine what I would write to go with THAT! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maria D.

     /  July 11, 2013

    Um….we gotta get you some new music but I’m not sure what would work well…will have to think on this and get back to you….lol…oh and thanks Adria….now its stuck in my head…lol

    Like

    Reply
    • Luckily, it did not get stuck in mine. Today’s tune though: Bette Davis Eyes by Kim Carnes (I think that’s who sang it). What do you write to that?

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Fashionista

Fashion for those who love the Nerd Life

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

