Let Mortal Combat Begin!


Occasionally the theme song from the Mortal Kombat movies run through my head.  This is usually precipitated by knowing that I have to go to work on a new book very soon.

Today, as I sit down to write my blog post, the theme song once again begins to play.  My job today, tackle Dark Legacies.  There are moments when I find shifting from character to character to be nothing short of a deadly game of swordsmanship.  And going from the paranoid sociopathic Aislinn to the clueless pessimistic Brenna is a shift that I do not make easily.

Then again shifting to the hapless fatalist Nadine is also a challenge.

I know my good friends and family, always hear “me” when they read any of the female leads (heaven help me… I’m a clumsy, sociopathic demon in this version of reality), none of them are “me”.  And that means I have to work very hard to think like “them”.  Frighteningly, I find Aislinn the easiest to write and Brenna the hardest.  I’m just not as clueless or pessimistic as Brenna.  To be completely honest (and this horrifies me to no end), I am probably most like Nadine… A hapless (and sometimes helpless) optimistic fatalist bumbling and stumbling my way through the world and trying not to stress.

Being both an optimist and a fatalist is challenging, but one does not exclude the other, although I sometimes believe it should.  Let the Fates do what they will, in the end, it will work out, is kind of my philosophy.

So as I sit, trying to force the sound of Aislinn’s voice from my head (she doesn’t sound like “me” to me, just FYI) and replace it with Brenna’s, I find the theme song once again playing in the background.  And somewhere further away, I hear the words “Let Mortal Combat Being!”

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

C Patt

A safe place for Paper Sisters to roam

Village Books

2513 Bernadette Dr, Columbia MO 65203 (573) 449-8637

Susan Finlay Writes

Susan Writes Mysteries and Suspense

ReadTuesday

It's going to be HUGE!

Maria63303's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Roger Radford Journalist & Author

Thrillers with a Twist

Characters in Progress

Developing character on the page and off

Me and my writing life

A blog about books, my ideas and what I've learned as I live life as a writer.

Not So Easy, Breezy

Appreciating the hard things in life

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

mishaburnett

more than one way to skin a cat

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

thestorymavens.wordpress.com/

Finding The Write Direction Write Now

Jodie Jackson Jr. - Author

I wrote a book ...

Adria Waters

Navigating my way through the writing process

